PDA

View Full Version : Help needed in creating catalog - PHP/MySQL

Jawahir
December 14th, 2007, 04:11 PM
I'm working on my graduation project at the moment, which is basically an online supermarket. I'm having difficulty with the catalog for the supermarket's products (I'm new to this programming business).

For the catalog, I have two pages, one html and the other is the action page in php. For the html page I have this code:

<form action="catalog.php" method="POST">
Category : <select name="category">
<option value="fresh food">Fresh Food</option>
<option value="kitchen cupboard">Kitchen Cupboard</option>
<option value="frozen food">Frozen Food</option>
<option value="drinks">Drinks</option>
<option value="toiletry and baby">Toiletry and Baby</option>
<option value="house">House</option>
</select><br />
<input type="submit" value="Submit Info" />
</form>

This works fine. The problem is with the PHP action page. I'm not quite sure how to do that part. So far I've done this:

<?
include ("mysqlconnect.inc.php");

$category = $_POST['category'];

$query = "SELECT * FROM resource WHERE category ='$category'"; //checks the database for categories matching the credentials entered
$result=mysql_query($query);

if (mysql_num_rows($result) >= 1) { //checks to see if there are any positive matches

I don't know how to to retrieve the data from the resource table in my database (which lists all the products) according to the category selected in the html page. In other words, I haven't a clue what to write next in that code! If anyone can help then please let me know as soon as possible (the deadline is approaching!).

P.S. The resource table (which holds all the products) is this:

CREATE TABLE `resource` (
`resource_id` int(10) NOT NULL auto_increment,
`name` varchar(50) collate ascii_bin NOT NULL default '',
`category` enum('fresh food','kitchen cupboard','frozen food','drinks','toiletry and baby','house') collate ascii_bin NOT NULL default 'fresh food',