PDA

View Full Version : Public school computer literacy is failing us :P

%hMa@?b<C
December 13th, 2007, 01:21 AM
today, my brother (8th grade, i'm in 11th) came home from school and asked me if he had a firewall on his computer (laptop, running gutsy). I told him yes, and showed him firestarter. I wondered why, and he told me that his computer teacher told him that you need a firewall so that hackers can't "ping" into your computer. Now, I'm no security expert, but I could not help but laughing out loud at the moron.
ps. dont ping into my box and steal my files :p

blithen
December 13th, 2007, 01:24 AM
today, my brother (8th grade, i'm in 11th) came home from school and asked me if he had a firewall on his computer (laptop, running gutsy). I told him yes, and showed him firestarter. I wondered why, and he told me that his computer teacher told him that you need a firewall so that hackers can't "ping" into your computer. Now, I'm no security expert, but I could not help but laughing out loud at the moron.
:lolflag:
ps: I'll try not to. :P

zekopeko
December 13th, 2007, 01:37 AM
sorry to burst your bubble but Firestarter isn't a firewall. It's a GUI for iptabels firewall.
Also you can disable pinging on the firewall so that "hackers" can't see what services you are running on your computer and what ports are open.

i think you/your brother misunderstood what the teacher meant

Darkhack
December 13th, 2007, 01:38 AM