PDA

View Full Version : Understanding what Open-Source means

Wazeem
December 11th, 2007, 12:09 AM
Hello im fairly new to linux and to open source software in general.

Now I have used open source and have a broad understanding of what open source software is. It is that you can view and edit the code and are allowed to distribute as long as no money or personal gain is involved.

That much I "kinda" understand. But being a beginner programmer myself I dont really understand how it works.

Now say I went and edited the code to an Open Source application how can I gain credit for my contribution (like say I wanted to show an employer) and what overall gain would I have? Now I know Open Source is not about personal gain but it makes it difficult to justify putting time and effort into it.

Maybe if some devs (not necessarily ubuntu) would explain why they work on open source stuff that would help me better.

How would open source be able to tell if someone is stealing the code? Like I wouldn't want to make an open source app and then have some guy come in and release something similar but is closed source. I dont see how Open Source deals with this and as there is nobody that owns the code who would press charges (would charges be involved? if not what happens?).

Likewise what if I wanted to program an app but wanted the control over it and created a closed source alternative (say I use the Open source code as a reference NOT COPY, is this aloud?). How can I assure that my app can not be charged or proved to be a copy (obviously keeping the code different is one thing but say I used the app as a reference).

Also Lastly whats the deal with UNIX? my friend says they are open source but I say many closed source unix variants that make you pay for it.

Sorry I know its many questions but I been thinking bout it lots.

Lostincyberspace
December 11th, 2007, 12:21 AM