PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Theme troubles

Techwiz
December 9th, 2007, 11:38 PM
I am very new to Ubuntu. And I was wondering how to install themes. I have tried several times before but I have never succeeded. Could you help me? Thanks!

Rabidmonkey1
December 9th, 2007, 11:49 PM
To install a theme, you download the archive, then under (I believe) Settings>Preferences>Appearance there is a tab named Themes. Under the Theme tab there is a button that says "Install theme"

Click "Install theme" and this will open a window. Navigate to where you saved the theme archive and then select it. The computer will then install the theme, and it will be selectable as an icon in the list of available themes.

You can then delete the archive, as it is no longer needed.

Get some good themes at gnome-look.org

Sorry if this is rough, I don't have my Ubuntu install open in front of me at the moment... I will later though, so feel free to ask any other questions!

Techwiz
December 9th, 2007, 11:54 PM
I just tried that but my computer says that the file format is invalid.

smartboyathome
December 9th, 2007, 11:55 PM
You need to extract the theme to /home/your-username/.themes/ , then change it as stated above.

Techwiz
December 10th, 2007, 12:02 AM
I just tried all of that and my computer still says that the file format is invalid.

smartboyathome
December 10th, 2007, 12:19 AM
Did you just select the theme from the list (not install it)?

mcduck
December 10th, 2007, 12:52 AM
I just tried all of that and my computer still says that the file format is invalid.

What theme did you download? Can you give a link?

Tenken
December 10th, 2007, 12:53 AM
What format is the theme you downloaded in? They need to be in the filename.tar.gz format for Rabidmonkey's method to work.

crimesaucer
December 10th, 2007, 01:05 AM
The way I would do it, is I would unpack the "new_theme" to my /home/folder

... so it was /home/folder/new_theme