PDA

View Full Version : Linux Programming

syntheticz
December 9th, 2007, 10:39 PM
I am a total beginner in linux and I know NOTHING about any kind of programming, I read the stickys but they do not seem to cover what I need. What programs/things will I need to start?
Where can I learn open source?

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

rufius
December 9th, 2007, 11:22 PM
Well what kind of programming are you looking at doing? Do you want to develop GUI applications or work on back end libraries and such?

Look into python and wxGlade if you're wanting to build GUI applications. Python is a good all around starter language and is quite common on most systems. You can find python tutorials everywhere but my suggestion is start at the official python tutorial (http://docs.python.org/tut/).

If you're feeling adventurous you can always learn C. If you go that route, you should read K&R, that is The C Programming Language by Kernighan & Ritchie. After that, you'll want to go to The Unix Programming Environment - Kernighan & Pike. Those are both excellent books on C and get you right into the middle of things.

pmasiar
December 9th, 2007, 11:49 PM
Don't start with C unless you have a guru around to help you. Python is much simpler to learn. Wiki in my sig has links to free online resources and training tasks.

Also, don't bother with GUI untill you learn plan commandline first. Then decide what you want to learn, find a project which does that, and join. You need to be prepared to learn a lot by yourself, google is your friend, many people walked same path before you and there are loads of info available, if you are ready to learn.

MicahCarrick
December 10th, 2007, 01:49 AM
I agree that Python might be a good language to start with, although C and/or C++ is something you should consider down the road once you master the fundamental programming concepts.