PDA

View Full Version : Inspiron Desktop 530 N Questions/Opinions

SilverDragon
December 8th, 2007, 04:23 AM
First I was just wondering if anyone who has bought this machine has enjoyed/disliked their experience with it.

The reason I am planning on buying this is my old computer is having hardware problems while I was running Ubuntu, but luckily my family doesn't blame Ubuntu when I try to explain to them that it is either a problem with the CPU(CPU failing during start-up) or the monitor going into stand-by and I can't get it out of it. I tested the monitor on a different computer and it works fine. I also realized the monitor issue could also be caused by a bad video card, because thats old too(GeForce 4200). In addition, I was also having this problem under Window, so its not Ubuntu.

I had been using Ubuntu for a few months. I had been on and off, but had recently made a complete switch to Ubuntu, and I'm glad I did.

My first question has to do with the fact that because the monitor I have now (Samsung Syncmaster 712n) works fine, I was planning on using that and just buying the computer off Dell. Would that be possible or is their some propriety cable I would need to use to connect the monitor to the video card?

My second question is since the computer ships with Ubuntu 7.04, could I just wipe that out and install Ubuntu 7.10? I had been using the latest version for a few months now. People may complain about bugs but it worked fine for my daily use and has been out more then a month which is the general rule for waiting before upgrading.

My last and probably most important question deals with getting my old data onto the new computer. My old computer used IDE hard drives and all of my music and videos were on a 120GB and backed up to a 80GB hard drive. I was wondering if there was any way I could get that data onto my new hard drive?