PDA

View Full Version : Red Hat vs Ubuntu

Black Mage
December 8th, 2007, 02:51 AM
I'm about to make a choice between servers and I need an honest, UNBIASED opinion. Which Linux is better for server software, Red Hat or Ubuntu. Right now I know the layout of Ubuntu and its free. But redhat seems to know what it is doing and its only $80(I say only $80 because I think of the cost of servers for Mac and Windows).

So what should I go with? Red Hat or Ubuntu. What are the real pros and cons.

SomeGuyDude
December 8th, 2007, 02:55 AM
I'd say Red Hat simply because Ubuntu's always in a constant state of "new version right around the corner". I'm no server expert, but the general consensus is that Ubuntu's for users, not servers.

-grubby
December 8th, 2007, 02:57 AM
I would say (Even though its not a choice) Debian Etch. Ubuntu's release schedule goes too fast for running a server. Red hat otherwise

fedex1993
December 8th, 2007, 02:58 AM
ahcley i wouldnt go with with either ubuntu or redhat i would recommend debian. one because ubuntu i have had problems with permissions 100% of the time and it started to make me mad. debian uses the exact same commands you just dont half to type sudo. also ubuntu is based off a debian type of distro

p_quarles
December 8th, 2007, 03:02 AM
Red Hat is the enterprise standard for Linux servers. If you want the same thing, without the tech support, you can get CentOS, a no-charge clone of RHEL.

Debian Etch is every bit as good as RHEL, in most respects. The advantages of RHEL/CentOS are 1) better setup wizards, and 2) they're the enterprise standard, and more commercial Linux software is available as an .rpm than as a .deb.

LookTJ
December 8th, 2007, 03:08 AM
I would choose either CentOS(free redhat version) or Debian(or Ubuntu).

Black Mage
December 8th, 2007, 03:11 AM
Ahhh, so CentOS is redhat but the free version?

fedex1993
December 8th, 2007, 03:14 AM
I would choose either CentOS(free redhat version) or Debian(or Ubuntu).