PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a client-server coding environment...

Paul Bramscher
September 8th, 2005, 02:17 AM
Here's my situation: I'm a professional LAMP coder, and just switched from Windows XP to Ubuntu as my development box and do work on a big Solaris server. What's a good arrangement for coding PHP?

* My PHP programs are big (like 30,000+ lines). vi is the stone age -- I need something more modern.
* I need a full GUI with cut-and-paste at the bare minimum.
* I need PHP syntax highlighting.
* I don't want to be goofing around with command-line sftp/scp to move things back and forth.
* I can't make changes to the Solaris config, and the sysadmin probably won't do anything to help me.

Here's what I've come up with:
You can go into Konqueror on KDE and type "sftp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx" to open a connection to a remote server. Or you can use Kate and open a file by typing "sftp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx" to its location.

Anyone else have thoughts? Remember my restrictions above.

-Paul Bramscher

vasdee
September 8th, 2005, 05:28 AM
I recommend SCREEM as the IDE of choice, sounds like it will have everything you need. Maybe consider bluefish too, i've come across a few bugs with the current package of screem (version 0.12) and i think bluefish might be more stable.

I personally mount my remote filesystems (with gnome) and work directly to the remote server - saving the project files and everything to the server- Screem handles this very well.

The other option is setup a local mysql-php setup and do all dev locally then when you are ready you can upload the files to the remote server - again screem does this well.

Paul Bramscher
September 8th, 2005, 04:45 PM
I recommend SCREEM as the IDE of choice, sounds like it will have everything you need. Maybe consider bluefish too, i've come across a few bugs with the current package of screem (version 0.12) and i think bluefish might be more stable.