PDA

View Full Version : Why so much Mono in latest updates?

lancest
December 5th, 2007, 07:08 AM
Latest (OO?) updates have alot of Mono. Is Mono that important?

hanzomon4
December 5th, 2007, 07:22 AM
Wow just updated... A lot of mono, to my knowledge the only mono apps installed by default are tomboy and fspot. I must say however that mono apps rock hard. I love banshee, beagle, fspot, and tomboy.

DoctorMO
December 5th, 2007, 07:29 AM
these new updates prompted me to remove the entire mono library; I've been meaning to do it for some time as I just don't see the point in having them installed at all. As a programmer I'd rather play it safe and not waste my time in a dangerous framework. Python, Java or C++ for me thanks.

pcjoe
December 5th, 2007, 08:31 AM
I don't get the hostility towards mono - .NET is a great development platform as far as I'm concerned. Whenever I'm at home working on my personal projects in C++, I can't stop thinking to myself "Man.. This would have been so much easier if I could program it in C# like at work." I can do things in .NET that would take me well over double the time in C++. Yeaahhh, it's by Microsoft, but that's like saying you refuse to use a free calculator because it's made by a company you dislike. Instead, you'll do ALL of the arithmetic by hand.

Either way, It's not like everyone is forced to use it... The choice is there for developers that feel more comfortable with .NET. AFAIK, wasn't the entire Linux thing ABOUT choice? If a developer wants to use .NET, that's great; it'll probably get a lot of the .NET guys who traditionally only develop for windows to make linux apps too.

DoctorMO
December 5th, 2007, 09:44 AM
I don't get the hostility towards mono - .NET is a great development platform as far as I'm concerned.