PDA

View Full Version : Back and Forth

hkq37
December 3rd, 2007, 09:21 AM
Hi
After a bit of hiatus of about a year I came back to this website and read some of my old posts, and also some posts in the Absolute Beginners Forum.
I read many of the new users problems and empathize with them because it seems like I was there only recently - totally bewildered and frustrated.
So I just want to say stick with it!
Weening of XP is a bit like quitting smoking maybe you might go back a few times but in the end if you stick with it you will learn to live without out it - and feel better for it.

On the weekend my friend asked me to help fix his computer ( actually my old donation running XP ) and this thing was such a nightmare to clean viruses and things off it- I couldn't do it ( I failed ) so I just left it there and said good luck. I don't really like to see anyone go under but I think MS has got some serious serious issues with it's OS's.

At home I have Fedora 8 and Xubuntu on my laptop.
It's a shame Xubuntu doesn't have a decent forum ( there is one but its loaded with spam and pretty sparse). I am pretty happy with Xubuntu - especially the wifi support ( power options still need some work I think )
After a fall out with my usual (Macfanboy) friends, I thought I would post something here.

Vadi
December 3rd, 2007, 02:25 PM
I'd recommend the friend a xubuntu then, unless he has some critical apps on windows that don't work well in wine =)

MonkeyBoy
December 3rd, 2007, 04:34 PM
I find that using Linux is more like starting smoking. It feels good and after a while you can't do without it. If for some reason you do stop using it you will experience withdrawal symptoms and for the rest of your life you will feel that something is missing.

I need my fix...

-grubby
December 3rd, 2007, 05:12 PM