PDA

View Full Version : Tulsa Area

shodan_lee
December 2nd, 2007, 10:42 AM
A little background; I've been tinkering with computers since a high school techie class in 97, and I'm fairly competent in windows, building my own systems and helping others do the same. I first found a Linux I could really sit and play with in BeatrIX, which grokked me to Ubuntu (then in the hoary hedgehog stage, if I recall correctly).

Anyhow, I got a new computer, the old one broke, and long story short I've finally found my excuse to jump back into Ubuntu.

Sadly, i'm still a total noob. Worse, a noob with nonstandard hardware and no extisting hardware budget.

Hi!

palintheus
December 2nd, 2007, 04:27 PM
o/

Glad to hear about another Ubuntu user in the state, be sure to check out the info post at the top of the sub forum, should give you many links and you can, almost, always find me in the IRC channel #ubuntu-us-ok on Freenode.

tlcoffee
January 25th, 2008, 05:03 PM
Right on. I'm in Tulsa as well. Good to see I'm not alone :)

cwelch
February 6th, 2008, 07:57 PM
I'm in the Tulsa area (Vinita, actually) and go to school at ITT Tech in Tulsa. We have a lot of people there using Ubuntu. Fedora 5 was the choice for one of our Linux classes, but it sucked. Teacher wants to write his own stuff and use Ubuntu next quarter. He also uses it on his own equipment, so that helped. I got into it right after Feisty came out thanks to some friends at school, and have just myself acquired another several people, and am going to build an edUbuntu box for a friends daughter also. He would try to get his department (Sheriff's Office) to switch if it wasn't for their OTIS stuff has to be 2K/XP.

franklinf
February 18th, 2008, 04:48 AM
Hi!!!