PDA

View Full Version : imbrandon's Holiday Computer Fund

imbrandon
December 2nd, 2007, 06:06 AM
UPDATE you can also Digg this story to help me out http://digg.com/linux_unix/Help_an_OpenSource_Developer_Get_a_New_Computer

I’m a developer, and my primary tool is my computer. Unfortunately, about 3 months ago, my computer died an untimely death, and I have resorted to using a pentium 200MHz machine with 256MB Ram, which lets me keep up with regular communications, but significantly slows the pace of development.

As a computer is a big purchase, and represents most of what I want to receive for the holidays, I’ve set up a fundraiser (https://www.fundable.com/groupactions/groupaction.2007-12-01.9926355325/groupaction_view) so that people who wanted to help towards this gift could do so without needing to purchase the entire thing (and to avoid the all too common problem of receiving 8 video cards and no RAM).

www.fundable.com allows me to accept pledges via paypal but NOT collect any unless the goal is met, so if you feel giving and pledge something, it will only be charged if the goal is met ( this is set at $250, which seems to be the minimum for a decent system, if more is collected, I can look at something better). You can read more about how fundable works from www.fundable.com/faq (http://www.fundable.com/faq), and I’m more than happy to answer any questions via email, IRC, Jabber, etc.

http://www.imbrandon.com is my homepage for those that dont know ( and my contact info is on there ) and I just posted this to my blog also.

Fundraiser Link : https://www.fundable.com/groupactions/groupaction.2007-12-01.9926355325/groupaction_view

( also linked from my blog )

Thanks everyone, and have a great holiday season :)

maniacmusician
December 2nd, 2007, 06:15 AM