PDA

View Full Version : Vista to Ubuntu!

davidallan
December 1st, 2007, 03:24 PM
Well the time has come for me to change to Linux as my main OS for my laptop. After several years looking at Linux instead of windows Ubuntu 7.10 has done it! I've played with red hat years ago then Fedora as of late but Ubuntu for me comes out on top. The installation of programs pluggins etc is easy as I've come from a Windows backround.

I work as an IT manager and work with many Windows distributions server and desktop. Linux and its command line have been a challenge to learn as i've spent most of my computing life on DOS. Only playing with Vmware ESX has given me the push to learn Linux once more. I've always wanted to learn Linux and Ubuntu is an awesome friendly distribution...only thing I feel is a bit of a cheat > Ubuntu and Gnome are too easy and hide most of the command line learning and now like Vista you no longer need DOS commands I feel asthough i've missed out on the Linux commmand era > but thats probs just and i could easly locate an old redhat iso! lol.

Anyways just thought i'd post my positive thoughts about Ubuntu which best of all is FREE!! :D

Cheers,
Dave.

Mateo
December 1st, 2007, 03:29 PM
good deal, hope you find it satisfying.

atomkarinca
December 1st, 2007, 03:41 PM
Actually, you can still use CLI for almost anything. So you haven't missed out a lot yet :)

marco123
December 1st, 2007, 03:43 PM
Welcome.:) You now have a real Operating System that can actually operate your computer. Do you know that Vista Ultimate can't even burn an .iso. lol

bash
December 1st, 2007, 04:29 PM
Well you can still use the command line if you like. That whats I think is great about Ubuntu. You free to choose if you want to do it the graphical or the "command line" way. To each its own. :D

I don't know how good you know your way around Ubuntu already but here are 2 ressources you can consult:

The Ubuntu Wiki (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/)