PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

emkubed
November 29th, 2007, 11:47 PM
Hello there. I'm a network administrator based in Enid, OK and I use Ubuntu and Debian at home and at work.

I've been trying to decide how I can best contribute to the project and have been reviewing the info here:

http://www.ubuntu.com/community/participate

So far Development (packaging/bug fixing) and Documentation interest me. I was curious if anyone on this Oklahoma-specific forum was currently actively contributing or if you were mainly users and enthusiasts.

I'm more of a forum goer than an IRC user (haven't used IRC since college in 1997), so I'm not sure if it's even worth the time to get involved in the forum, IRC and mailing list.

I suppose that's it for now. Time to dig into https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MOTU/GettingStarted

palintheus
November 30th, 2007, 04:30 AM
I think you are the only person really into MOTU stuff, most of us are users/enthusiasts.....although it would be great to have you on board, have you reviewed the sticky at the top of the sub forum?

emkubed
November 30th, 2007, 04:45 AM
I have, and I notice that http://www.ubuntuoklahoma.org/ returns a few errors like so:

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/var/lib/php5/sess_77c49725a49a2c225c59a5487f46b014, O_RDWR) failed: Read-only file system (30) in /home/sites/ubuntuoklahoma.org/htdocs/index.php on line 2

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sites/ubuntuoklahoma.org/htdocs/index.php:2) in /home/sites/ubuntuoklahoma.org/htdocs/index.php on line 2

Anything I can help with? I notice the host, friservices.com, has a similar issue. Do we need hosting assistance?

Looks like I need to get on launchpad before I can do much contribution-wise.