PDA

View Full Version : C++ framework choice

dewm_solo
November 28th, 2007, 05:18 AM
Hi all, I am aware that this has most likely been discussed before, but my searches on the forum hasn't lead to an answer to my question.

I am a C++ developer that comes from a Windows development world as most of you do. I started with Win32 api and since 2004 have been working with .Net 1.1 and 2.0. To skip over the personal history, I'll jump ahead. I have been growing tired and doubtful of .Net ....the more I use it the more design flaws and problems I get with deployment and sharing libraries, etc etc...and quite frankly I would like to get back to native C++. I do still need to develop for windows as the company I work for develops utilities for a piece of software that exists only on windows.

So...here's the question. Amongst all of the different frameworks and apis.....I'm talking Qt, wxWidgets, QTK+, etc etc....Is there one that I could learn on linux, in my spare time, that allows for cross platform compilation, that would allow me to develop relatively fast and be good enough for corporate software.

I have been looking quite a bit at wxWidgets....I have the source...and its all compiled. I browsed the classes descriptions and read some tutorials online. I am just concerned with the future of it, how it will move on to newer Os's : ie Vista. I am also worried about how productive will I get to be with it. With all the problems I've been encountering at deployment time with .Net....if I could get to be 80~85% as productive with another framework and cut a little on my deployment problems....I would end up being better off with something else than .Net.

LaRoza
November 28th, 2007, 05:22 AM
I would go with wxWidgets. Not only does it work on all platforms, it is available for Python and other languages.

DavidBell
November 28th, 2007, 07:51 AM