PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] What is better, upgrading the OS or a clean install?

Bruce M.
November 26th, 2007, 12:51 AM
I'm new to Linux, just under 5 months now. I started with 6.04 LTS (it's a long story) in July of this year, I read a lot and within a week I spent 14 hours upgrading to 6.01 and another night upgrading to 7.04. I had nothing installed except the "clean install" programs at the time. Since then I have added programs, done "some" tweaking, and saved a lot of HowTo's, Created a ZIM help file for terminal commands I have learned, linking in man pages, and examples from the forums and questions.

I'm running Feisty i386 Desktop (32bit), on a desktop, not a laptop. It's an old PIII (800Mhz - 512MB RAM) on an Intel D815EEA motherboard, sound and video cards are built in. Works great right "out of the box" so to speak.

I get my programs from:
Ubuntu 7.04 _Feisty Fawn_ - Release i386 (20070415)/main
Ubuntu 7.04 _Feisty Fawn_ - Release i386 (20070415)/restricted
ar.archive.ubuntu.com/main
ar.archive.ubuntu.com/multiverse
ar.archive.ubuntu.com/restricted
ar.archive.ubuntu.com/universe
archive.ubuntu.com/multiverse
archive.ubuntu.com/universe
packages.medibuntu.org/main
packages.medibuntu.org/universe
security.ubuntu.com/main
security.ubuntu.com/multiverse
security.ubuntu.com/universe

Until I learn more about Linux I restrict myself to Ubuntu's repos.

For Gutsy I plan on downloading the "alternate" ISO CD or DVD but I don't know what the differences are.
Then I plan on ordering the "Live CD/DVD" to be delivered.

Do the DVDs comes with added features?

In System>Update Manager I can do a "live update" to 7.10. It will take me 12-14 hours to do that, I don't have a problem with the time.

If I do an "update" my installed programs remain and having done just that from 6.04, 6.10 and 7.04, I know it works.

I've been reading http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=583007, where it seems that doing a "clean install" is the best way to go.