PDA

View Full Version : Medes: New project for running Google Maps, etc as desktop applications

SeanHodges
November 23rd, 2007, 08:40 PM
I've been working on a project for running web applications outside of the browser. It's a very new project, and theres a fair bit left to do. However, it does work, and already provides me a way to run Google Maps and Pandora radio outside of Firefox.

I'm aware of Prism, Webrunner, Adobe Air, etc, but there are some significant differences in direction between these programs compared to Medes. I plan to provide some details on this in the near future.

Feel free to download the packages I created for Gutsy (both i386 and AMD64 are available) or compile the source code (be sure to check out the README for instructions).

http://seanhodges.co.uk/~sean/medes/

Any feedback/help will be more than welcome, technical or otherwise. I am working on this with an open mind to functionality. This is my first project targeting the Linux platform, as well as with C++, so be sure to give me pointers if I've done something wrong.

Cheers,

Sean

SeanHodges
December 9th, 2007, 01:42 AM
I now have an entry on Launchpad for all things Medes!

https://launchpad.net/medes

Unfortunately, I'm not able to put my code on there at this point as it doesn't support Git VCS. I will continue to use the project website (provided above) to host the packages and source code, and will use Launchpad for most other development tasks.

I'll hopefully have release 0.0.2 available over the next day or two, which will include a dynamic menu bar, and rules for handling Javascript actions.

I also plan to set up a more suitable website for the project, so I can stop treating this forum like a blog :)

SeanHodges
December 9th, 2007, 06:01 PM
Medes 0.0.2 has been released:

http://www.seanhodges.co.uk/~sean/medes/

SeanHodges
December 13th, 2007, 11:00 PM
Medes 0.0.3 has been released.