PDA

View Full Version : Good OS for hobbyist?

nightlith
November 22nd, 2007, 06:46 AM
Probably posting in the wrong forum, but hey, first post! It is programming related though, so this seems like the best place.

I used to program a lot. Just dabbled mostly, and all of it self taught. All of it was done making "games". I started young, 7 or 8, making goofy BASIC apps on my mother's Vic20. Went on to DOS and it's QBASIC interpreter, discovered C/C++ (djgpp), took some classes in high school, and read a couple books. Nothing ever panned out in terms of a programming career mostly because this was all when computers were geeky ****, and none of the schools I went to offered anything resembling Computer Science. Whatever, just trying to give a little of my background experience.

I've gotten the itch to try my hand at it again, as I greatly enjoyed coding out different ideas, and I'm a sucker for fun little 2d games. I've had a lot of things I've always wanted to try, but at some point, probably between job, marriage, children and houses, I've never had time to keep up with my passion. Getting back into C++ seems very impossible at this point because, obviously technology didn't wait for me ;)

Personal life story aside, is a Linux OS going to better suit me for 2d hobbyist-esque programming? I've dabbled with the DirectX APIs but I completely lost. I don't mind OpenGL, but finding windows specific resources was....difficult. Also, I'd appreciate book ideas. Though I seem to learn a lot faster by doing than reading.

And, not to cause an argument, but I really enjoyed using MSFT's VisualStudio IDE. I loved the interface and the "Ease of use" features it had. Are there similar development platforms for Ubuntu? Or does everyone just use vi? ;)

CptPicard
November 22nd, 2007, 07:10 AM
Linux is the "hobbyist OS" and has been that for over a decade. Welcome on board. :)