PDA

View Full Version : Help: need info about travelling in UK & Germany

imon9
November 20th, 2007, 02:23 PM
hi, i decided to visit London & berlin for my winter break for about 10-12 days

anyone from London, Berlin?
i need to collect some advice on place to stay, places of interest, perhaps some tips

First of all, i'm travelling with 1 fren. so, i'll need accomodation for 2. Cheapest deal would be nice, since i'm still studying :D

For UK:
anywhere is interesting in London and places near by (eg: birmingham, manchester etc)

what must i see?

where is the nice place to eat?

where is the nice place to hangout at nite (clubs)?

where do i get good deals for accomodation?

anything in particular i should be aware of? like security of stuff

For Berlin:
do i need to know a bit of german language to be able to travel there.

what is the places i must see?

where is the nice place to eat :D ?

(i'll be there for 2-3 days)

MODERATOR: plz move my entry to other categories if i posted the wrong place...

bluedragon436
November 22nd, 2007, 06:47 AM
As far as Berlin goes, having a knowledge of some German would be helpful when trying to get around, as well as getting service either for a Hotel or food. I am currently stationed at Ramstein AB, Germany and haven't gotten to Berlin as of yet, but I do know that you will want to know at least a little bit of German to make your visit a bit smoother and better.

PartisanEntity
November 22nd, 2007, 09:36 AM
If you need help with German terms let us know, I am from Austria so I can help with the language but not with any locations in Berlin.

wieman01
November 22nd, 2007, 09:42 AM
There is some stuff here:

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sehensw%C3%BCrdigkeiten_in_Berlin

Looks like you'll have a decent weekend in Berlin with lots of stuff to do. Looks great!

aimran
November 22nd, 2007, 11:06 AM
I can't help you with accommodation as I haven't had the need to find hotels in london :P

For UK: