PDA

View Full Version : can't connect modem hangs up

rocket.7777
November 20th, 2007, 12:13 PM
Hi I'm new to Ubuntu I have the exact same problem with connecting to the internet as EmilyRose had 3 weeks ago but there was no reply in that thread relating to her first problem (??) Having read loads of stuff and not really understood it, I think I have to edit some files that I'm unable to view? I'm using GnomePPP and thought that correctly entering the required feilds would've sufficed. The Zoom 56K V.92/V90 modem for linux dials out, connects but has a problem authenticating and hangs up. What am I doing wrong? any help is greatly appreciated.

mngsailing
February 7th, 2009, 05:09 AM
Windows can't find my modem

Ubuntu can't find my modem

Ubuntu can't find scanmodem

WHo/what can find my modem?

ellis rowell
February 7th, 2009, 12:46 PM
Hi I'm new to Ubuntu I have the exact same problem with connecting to the internet as EmilyRose had 3 weeks ago but there was no reply in that thread relating to her first problem (??) Having read loads of stuff and not really understood it, I think I have to edit some files that I'm unable to view? I'm using GnomePPP and thought that correctly entering the required feilds would've sufficed. The Zoom 56K V.92/V90 modem for linux dials out, connects but has a problem authenticating and hangs up. What am I doing wrong? any help is greatly appreciated.

56K modem, I take it that you do not have Broad Band then?
Have you set-up the modem with the information given you by your ISP?

I use a wireless router (Broad Band), and that requires a different set-up. firstly to get it working I have to connect with an Ethernet cable to access the set-up page. Then enter the ISP info. and from then on it works automatically, it logs on when it is switched on.

mngsailing
February 7th, 2009, 01:42 PM
Dear Rocket
Authentication usually comes from your ISP site not seeing your password correctly.