PDA

View Full Version : Setting Up MySQL

FrOzeN89
November 16th, 2007, 05:33 PM
I just got Apache/php working fine and now I want to add MySQL so I can work with it locally. I've installed libapache2-mod-auth-mysql, mysql-admin, and mysql-query-browser. I've never worked with MySQL before except through a CPanel on a website I used to have.

What do I have to do so I can login to MySQL Admin/Query Browser using "localhost"?

Thanks. :)

Kadrus
November 16th, 2007, 05:49 PM
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu_dapper

Here's a link...it's a guide..see the SQL part

FrOzeN89
November 16th, 2007, 06:17 PM
Sweet, just followed the guide and it worked perfectly. Thanks! :)

Kadrus
November 16th, 2007, 06:58 PM
Glad to help :)

harakiri1976
November 19th, 2007, 11:13 PM
Hello!

I want to learn mysql but I'm having problems:(
I've followed Dapper's tutorial above and installed all correctly. I've tested my http://localhost/ with a test.php and everything is working fine. I can add .php files to my /var/www/ and accessed them (view them) using Firefox.
The problem is mysql :( I don't know how to use it and How To Start It:( I'll be more specific. If I type mysq and TAB on the Shell you can see what I've have:

Code:

nuno@nuno-desktop:~$ mysql
mysql mysql_fix_extensions
mysqlaccess mysqlimport
mysqladmin mysqlmanager
mysqlbug mysqlreport
mysqlcheck mysqlshow
mysql_client_test mysql_tableinfo
mysql_client_test_embedded mysqltest_embedded
mysqldump mysqltestmanager
mysqldumpslow mysqltestmanagerc
mysql_explain_log mysqltestmanager-pwgen
mysql_find_rows mysql_waitpid

..then, If I try to access mysql I get this error:

Code:

nuno@nuno-desktop:~$ mysql
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

I don''t know if this is not the way we can start with mysql using command line options. Or, If I need to configure Apache for the mysql to function correctly.