PDA

View Full Version : Do you try and help people out on the forums

earobinson
August 31st, 2005, 03:30 PM
I have been using linux for about 3 years now and still only know so much. When I first started I used fedora and was a compleat leach, now that I have used linux for a while I feal I am able to start helping people and so I have, I have never given money to the forums or to any other open source project (poor student). But I feal by asking smart questions and answering the questions that I can answer (even if is to teach a noob about the search feature when he is asking a question everyone else has all ready asked) that I can give a bit back.

So how much do you give back?

KingBahamut
August 31st, 2005, 03:37 PM
Everyday, as much as I can.

I wouldnt feel right if I didnt do at least that.

Im not a Pro
Im not a Noob
Im not an average Joe.

Im just a guy thats here to put his two cents in, if it helps you, then Ive done half my job and im happy.

xmastree
August 31st, 2005, 03:43 PM
Yep, I hang around the newbie forum and help out when I can. There's always someone a couple of rungs behind you on the ladder who can use your advice.

N'Jal
August 31st, 2005, 04:23 PM
What's great about this forum is that most people have caught the humanity to others mentality, and it don't matter if your a n00b most people are more than happy to help. Coz we all know we were once n00bs.

I'm someone who want to learn himself and has understood somethings while missed other's there are somethings that n00bs will understand that i still have to.

claydoh
August 31st, 2005, 04:54 PM
I try to help when I can, which means I either know the answer from experience, or have come across the issue, or the issue grabs my interest somehow. I try not to give help if I am unsure because I really don't want to give out incorrect advice.