PDA

View Full Version : QT3 - Tutorial Issues

iharrold
November 14th, 2007, 11:42 PM
I'm relatively new to Linux programming and looking at using QT for creation of GUI's. So I am following the QT tutorial located here. (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.0/tutorial-t1.html)

I get the following errors:

iharrold@iharrold-Ubuntubox:~/QTTest$ make all
g++ -c -pipe -Wall -W -O2 -D_REENTRANT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_SHARED -DQT_TABLET_SUPPORT -I/usr/share/qt3/mkspecs/default -I. -I/usr/share/qt3/include -I/usr/include/qt3 -o main.o main.cpp
main.cpp:30:28: error: QApplication: No such file or directory
main.cpp:31:27: error: QPushButton: No such file or directory
main.cpp: In function ‘int main(int, char**)’:
main.cpp:35: error: ‘QApplication’ was not declared in this scope
main.cpp:35: error: expected `;' before ‘app’
main.cpp:37: error: ‘QPushButton’ was not declared in this scope
main.cpp:37: error: expected `;' before ‘hello’
main.cpp:38: error: ‘hello’ was not declared in this scope
main.cpp:41: error: ‘app’ was not declared in this scope
main.cpp: At global scope:
main.cpp:33: warning: unused parameter ‘argc’
main.cpp:33: warning: unused parameter ‘argv’
make: *** [main.o] Error 1

So I verified the QT3 includes are indeed at /usr/share/qt3/includes. This still doesn't allow me to find the QApplication or QPushButton. I forced the location with #include </usr/share/qt3/include/QApplication> and #include </usr/share/qt3/include/QPushButton>

iharrold@iharrold-Ubuntubox:~/QTTest$ make all
g++ -c -pipe -Wall -W -O2 -D_REENTRANT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_SHARED -DQT_TABLET_SUPPORT -I/usr/share/qt3/mkspecs/default -I. -I/usr/share/qt3/include -I/usr/include/qt3 -o main.o main.cpp
main.cpp:30:51: error: /usr/share/qt3/include/QApplication: No such file or directory
main.cpp:31:50: error: /usr/share/qt3/include/QPushButton: No such file or directory
main.cpp: In function ‘int main(int, char**)’: