PDA

View Full Version : Best laptop for Ubuntu

Nermin
November 14th, 2007, 09:47 PM
Hi,
I'm not sure if this place is right for this thread. Correct me if i'm wrong.

I am an Ubuntu newbie... A good start:)
I want to buy a new laptop and would like to know which is best for Ubuntu 7.10. I heard that some things don't work on Ubuntu, driver problems, etc etc etc...
So, what do you suggest??? Price should be around 1000$-1200$ or 1000€.

Siph0n
November 14th, 2007, 10:10 PM
There is no best laptop, but you might want to go with something that has an nvidia chipset, instead of ATI.... I hear they work better with linux! :) Also an atheros chipset for the wireless part, or there are a few more that I know work really well with linux, i just forget the names.

Nermin
November 14th, 2007, 10:27 PM
ok, thanks

Still, could you suggest one that would work without driver problems? Intel Core Duo if possible, with a decent graphic card.

Dimitriid
November 14th, 2007, 10:39 PM
For that price which is quite comfortable I'd go with:

www.dell.com/open

or

www.system76.com

Normally I don't recommend these cause the price tag - hardware features ratio is not the best but in your case you can configure a pretty decent system and have it working with guaranteed, Linux friendly hardware.

SomeGuyDude
November 14th, 2007, 10:43 PM
My HP dv6000 (specifically a 6244us) has, in terms of the OS working with the hardware, been flawless. Even the little media control buttons above the keyboard work.

It's an Intel Core 2 Duo T5200, the graphics driver I -believe- is one of those Intel shared memory dealies, and I don't know what kind of wireless comes in it. All I know is that everything worked.

http://cgi.ebay.com/HP-Pavilion-dv6244us-Notebook_W0QQitemZ270149398570QQihZ017QQcategoryZ1 40067QQcmdZViewItem

That's it, though I wouldn't suggest buying it from Random Company on eBay.

Dimitriid
November 14th, 2007, 11:39 PM