PDA

View Full Version : New to ubuntu and tired of it already!

nilly
August 31st, 2005, 12:30 PM
I would say im new to linux!, ubuntu is the first dist i run on my main computer, have fiddled with gentoo on xbox earlier and some with redhat and mandrake.. And i would have to say that i love ubuntu!! much!, and then we have the repositories that are never up to date!! getting sick of it, and newbie as i am compiling my own software usually ends up in a bunch of broken packs and a wellfilled harddrive!..

What would you guys recommend to switch to, if i would switch.. i really love the ease of use ubuntu presents, and sudo is awesome.. and it must go with my laptop.. (Ubuntu does :)) Damn ubuntu rock!

Help me!

darkfox
August 31st, 2005, 01:16 PM
I would say im new to linux!, ubuntu is the first dist i run on my main computer, have fiddled with gentoo on xbox earlier and some with redhat and mandrake.. And i would have to say that i love ubuntu!! much!, and then we have the repositories that are never up to date!! getting sick of it, and newbie as i am compiling my own software usually ends up in a bunch of broken packs and a wellfilled harddrive!..

What would you guys recommend to switch to, if i would switch.. i really love the ease of use ubuntu presents, and sudo is awesome.. and it must go with my laptop.. (Ubuntu does :)) Damn ubuntu rock!

Help me!
If I understand correctly, you like everything about Ubuntu apart from the not-up-to-date repositories.
If this is correct, then I have a suggestion and a comment: