PDA

View Full Version : Make Ubuntu Look Like XP for Mom

bennettg
August 31st, 2005, 03:00 AM
Hi newbie here. off M$ for 3 months full. now want to install for mom who uses xp becuase of pop up, virus, etc. mom doesnt know anything about computers and i need to fool her into thinking she is still using windows.

can ubuntu be customeized to look like xp from the log on page to splash to desktops to apps? if so how? tried gnome-look.org without success

Orunitia
August 31st, 2005, 03:08 AM
Not the forum to ask for help.

bored2k
August 31st, 2005, 03:21 AM
Hi newbie here. off M$ for 3 months full. now want to install for mom who uses xp becuase of pop up, virus, etc. mom doesnt know anything about computers and i need to fool her into thinking she is still using windows.

can ubuntu be customeized to look like xp from the log on page to splash to desktops to apps? if so how? tried gnome-look.org without success
Why the need to fool anyone? What happened to explaining what you are installing and the benefits of it ?

drizek
August 31st, 2005, 03:29 AM

you can start wiht

apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

to install kde, which is more like windows than gnome.
then use the redmond splash(default on kubuntu), which looks like the xp welcome screen.
you can use either nuvola or crystal icon sets, i dont think she will really notice the difference between the two
find the bliss wallpaper on google.
install kbfx and a windows start button and kicker background
use a kde luna theme for the style and windeco

check these out
http://kdelook.org/content/show.php?content=27018
http://kdelook.org/content/show.php?content=155&vote=good&tan=99633438

aysiu
August 31st, 2005, 03:31 AM
So Smooth XP (http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show.php?content=16732) doesn't do it for you?

What about XPDE (http://www.xpde.com)?