PDA

View Full Version : Linux Professionals - please read

Zyphrexi
November 13th, 2007, 09:28 PM
I have a great love for linux and technology in general, my dream is to become a linux system administrator. I know where I want to go, but no idea how to get there. The school I attend does not have a great many linux classes, nor do the advisors have a clear understanding of how I should go about pursuing my goal.

So I ask you, Linux and IT professionals, what did you do to make your dream a reality?

Kingsley
November 13th, 2007, 09:31 PM
Oops, try Fedora Forums.

Of course I'm joking.

some_random_noob
November 13th, 2007, 10:06 PM
I'm not a Linux professional, but I know one in real life (He offered me a job as a network admin :) ). He started his own business - him and a friend... or something like that. The thing is that there aren't many Linux related jobs out there, so you're often better off starting your own business - provided that you are capable of it.

If I wanted to start my own Linux business, here's what I'd do: Find people with similar interests, simulate a network situation at home and experiment with things, and THEN go into the real world with the knowledge gained and start my own company.

... but seeing that I've already been offered a Linux related job (Which was a huge fluke!) it seems I won't need to start my own company.

Zyphrexi
November 14th, 2007, 04:58 AM
hmm... not quite the answer I was looking for.

some_random_noob
November 14th, 2007, 05:05 AM
hmm... not quite the answer I was looking for.

Well, it's a small market. Making jobs is better than getting jobs.

intelligentfool
November 14th, 2007, 05:08 AM
honestly, i think a few years of experience in 'the field' would suite you much better than trying to do it alone from the get go. also, in most parts of the world, your going to have to know how to make linux play nice with windows, and vice versa.