PDA

View Full Version : [C++]how to create files?

SledgeHammer_999
November 13th, 2007, 09:00 PM
I am a total noob in C++.

How to create files in C++? How to check if a file exists? Is it possible to do it using fstream?

Kadrus
November 13th, 2007, 09:04 PM
Euuh..I might be getting this wrong?But do you want to compile files in C++ or something like that?Run the program that you code?

SledgeHammer_999
November 13th, 2007, 09:07 PM
Sorry what I meant was how do I create files/folders using C++. Are there any functions that I can use to create a file let's say in "/home/username/sadf.txt"?

Martin Witte
November 13th, 2007, 09:26 PM
take a look at the ofstream class, for an example see eg. http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/files.html. another useful example is here http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial/lesson10.html, it shows also how to check if a file exists

SledgeHammer_999
November 13th, 2007, 09:31 PM
I have already read this(pretty good tutorials). But this shows me how to output data to an existing file. But I am looking for a way to create a file before being able to output data to that file.

After a quick test a fstream.open doesn't automatically create the file am I passing it.

smartbei
November 13th, 2007, 09:36 PM
Simplest way is using cstdio:

#include <cstdio>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
FILE * file = fopen("newfile.txt","w");
fprintf(file, "TESTING!!!");
fclose(file);
return 0;
}

aks44
November 13th, 2007, 09:43 PM
Simplest way is using cstdio

Ans this is supposed to be C++? :-\"
Sorry I couldn't help. :p

The preferred C++ way is to use std::fstreams, or boost::filesystem.

smartbei
November 13th, 2007, 09:47 PM
Haha, true. That doesn't change the fact that that is the simplest way :).

Anyway, if you are having trouble with fstream, see: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/files.html

or (for more newbie-friendly): http://www.daniweb.com/forums/post31214.html

aks44
November 13th, 2007, 09:52 PM