PDA

View Full Version : Need some Apache, MySQL, PHP advice.

Griff
November 11th, 2007, 07:46 PM
I'm very new to sql and php. To get started I could use a little newbie advice.

First, what I need to do: I need to create a website that is able to take input from users and query a database for the results. This brings me to a lamp. To install everything I need to get started I should only need to do the following right?

sudo tasksel install lamp-server
After this is installed what do I need to add to my startup so everything is running on boot?

Next, I looked over phpmyadmin and it looks pretty useful. Would I be able to use this outside my network to work on the database/everything else?

Thanks,
Griff

Kadrus
November 11th, 2007, 09:34 PM
sudo apt-get install apache2

Then type in your url:
http://localhost
to see if it works
For Php5

sudo apt-get install php5
sudo apt-get install libapache2-mod-php5
sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 restart

Test if it is installed correctly:

gksudo gedit /var/www/testphp.php
Insert this into the file

<?php phpinfo(); ?>
Save it
then open
http://localhost/testphp.php

That it is for installing Apache and PHP5..
To install MySql for Apache type:

sudo apt-get install libapache2-mod-auth-mysql
That's pretty much it for creating databases..hope that helped :)

mkoehler
November 11th, 2007, 11:21 PM
Griff,

As for phpmyadmin, yes, you can use it from outside your network in order to visually run SQL commands on the database. However, in order to make your webserver visible from outside of the network, you will need to (at a minimum) forward all requests on port 80 (or 8080, depending on your apache2 configuration) to the internal (network) IP of the server. If you need more help on getting this set up, I'd be happy to help you.

Cheers!

Hopworks
November 11th, 2007, 11:28 PM
I'm very new to sql and php. To get started I could use a little newbie advice.