PDA

View Full Version : complexity and efficiency of an algorithm mean the same thing in Big O notation?

nite owl
November 9th, 2007, 10:37 AM
Hi I am a computer science student studying for some upcoming exams.
I have been looking through last years past paper and I see a question asking me to give the complexity of a given algorithm in Big O notation and justify my answer.

However my text only explains how to calculate the efficiency of an algorithm in Big O notation, These do not sound the same to me though I could be wrong.. Thanks

ranarion
November 9th, 2007, 10:54 AM
First of all, I'm not sure whether this is the right place for such a question, perhaps one of the comp.sci.*-newsgroups might have been better. But I'll try to answer anyway.

This seems to be just a case of ambiguous wording. The big-O-Notation is used to group algorithms into complexity classes according to their average complexity. Each algorithm in a class has the same kind of complexity function (ignoring parameters). Such a function describes how many computation steps an algorithm needs for a given input size of n datasets (time complexity) or how much memory it needs (space complexity).

For example, all algorithms with O(n) have a complexity function that somehow includes the square of the numer of input datasets, but there may well be a lot more factors in the function. Remember that big-O is only used for partitioning into classes!