PDA

View Full Version : how can i tell if i properly installed my graphics card

dare2soar
November 8th, 2007, 05:35 PM
the blue screen of death shows up every now and then, it says to check and see if (something) is properly installed, the only thing i can think of that could not be installed properly is my graphics card, since i installed it myself and i haven't really done it before.
since i'm still a newbie at this, i want to know, how can i tell if i properly installed my graphics card? :confused:

RussianVodka
November 8th, 2007, 05:53 PM
Is this happening in Windows or Ubuntu?

dare2soar
November 8th, 2007, 05:56 PM
windows. please tell me you have an answer

Bannor
November 8th, 2007, 06:00 PM
make sure without over doing it that the card is all the way into board tighten the screw. if the sreen shows the bios when you start you have done it right.

for ubuntu if you can't get it to work. look around for the right driver and install it in recovery mode (command line). Windows usually works if the card is installed right although you may need to install the windows driver to get the most out of it.

dare2soar
November 8th, 2007, 06:05 PM
i'm sorry...bios? again, i'm a newbie

svtfmook
November 8th, 2007, 06:24 PM
did you go from ati to nvidia or vise-versa?

either way, uninstall the video drivers and install the drivers from the disk that came with the card or download them from the mfg'er's website.

also, right click on my computer, go to manage. then expand event viewer. click on "system". look for an error in the log there, should be notated with a little red or yellow sign.

post what it says there.

then, right click on my computer again, go to properties, click the hardware tab and then click the device manager button. click view > show hidden devices. look through the hardware sections for devices that are not installed properly. they will be notated with a yellow sign. if you find one, right click on it and try to reinstall the driver.