PDA

View Full Version : What can Linux do that Windows cannot?

PrimoTurbo
November 7th, 2007, 03:36 AM
Is there anything that linux can do that windows cannot? Curious if there are any exclusive software, or not.

-grubby
November 7th, 2007, 03:42 AM
I'll name one thing: change your DE (windowblinds doesn't count)

lyndaj70
November 7th, 2007, 03:47 AM
---Play *.wma files without Windows media refusing and nagging you that you don't have the rights.....

---convert midi files so that you can burn them to cd.... (well, in my experience I found a proggie that would do it in Windows but they wanted $30 and timidity was free)...

---scan a buddies' hard disk for viruses without worrying about catching them yourself.....

--- And as far as my kids are concerned, between the two operating systems, my kids can crash Windows in a heartbeat without even trying, but they have yet to even faze a linux install... which is what first got my attention when I started playing with it years ago :lolflag:

It's not for everyone, I'll admit -- but it is definitely something to at least try on for size :D

~Lynda

lyndaj70
November 7th, 2007, 03:48 AM
I'll name one thing: change your DE (windowblinds doesn't count)

That one, too.....

HermanAB
November 7th, 2007, 03:50 AM
It is not so much that Windows cannot do something. It is that Windows cannot do anything well.

lyndaj70
November 7th, 2007, 03:50 AM
Oh, yeah -- and Linux will let you see the source code behind the operating system, so that you (and everyone else) can verify that it's not revealing your personal information to a big company without your permission... (ask M$ to show you their sorce code for Windows and see what happens (grin)

-grubby
November 7th, 2007, 03:51 AM
(ask M$ to show you their sorce code for Windows and see what happens (grin)

I think that you can BUY Windows source code

lyndaj70
November 7th, 2007, 03:51 AM