PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu is like a VERY demanding mother

CostaRica
November 5th, 2007, 02:38 AM
Ubuntu is a VERY demanding mother. A mother that tells us: "you have to be patient, and in the future you'll thank me". And in the future you tell your friends: "My mother taught me to do things right, it was hard at the beginning, but now everything is all right"

Right now I believe I am something like 4 years old, and my Ubuntu mother is basically keeping me in my room "thinking" what I did wrong (searching in these forums for help).

M$ is an always panderer mother, the one who says: "don't try so hard, everything is going to be OK", but when you grow up you pay for everything you didn't try hard enough.

What do you think?

mp035
November 5th, 2007, 02:55 AM
LOL :) Linux in general is a hard mother, I have been using it for about 3 years now, and I am still finding out lots of stuff that I don't know.

And you are definitely right, it's a situation of "you'll thank me later". It's a steep learning curve, but in the last 3 years, I have learned more about computers than the 18 previous years using M$ products.

Now i run a remote windows machine set up as an application server to use the 2 programs that I can't get decent replacements for in linux. I am waiting for the day that I can shut it down altogether.

I have learned enough to be able to design and sell very low volume datalogging products to multi-million dollar companies in Australia. No university, no college, and I never finished high school. -- All learning has come from these forums.

Stick with it, it's hard, but worth it!

steveneddy
November 5th, 2007, 02:57 AM
Ubuntu is my smarter than I am best friend.

:popcorn:

Atomic Dog
November 5th, 2007, 03:43 AM