PDA

View Full Version : Where does LINUX go from here?

projectblu
November 2nd, 2007, 09:10 AM
Linux
How to make it grow

There was a question on Linux.com about where does Linux go from here. Meaning in my opinion what is required to make Linux grow. So this is one opinion on how to make Linux and open source software as a whole grow and claim more of a share of desktops all around the world.

A little background on myself maybe required here. I am a computer hobbyist. I tried my hand at application programming with windows in Visual Studio. This was done with quite a bit of success. I have programmed and designed several websites, both on windows and on Linux. Everyone I know calls me with there technological issues. I've fixed it all from the toaster to a Nintendo Wii not connecting to the internet. I've been using open source software for all of my computing life. But only recently (about 7 months) have I started to use Linux. I tried several distro's , Knoppix, Fedora, Red Hat, Korrora. But I settled on Ubuntu, this was due to its ease of use and the fact that all my hardware worked correctly the first time.

Now that you know a little background we can get on to the real point of this. Where does Linux go from where it is right now and how does Linux get on more desktops. There are a few steps that can be taken. One is more distro's need to work the first time there installed with out tweaks. Another area that could help the advancement of Linux is a more complete distribution. A third area of improvement is advertisement. A user on Ubuntu's forums said when asked what the easiest distro is “Its Linux of course you have to tweak it to make it work with everything”. As long as thats the opinion of Linux users and Linux developer's Linux wont have the share of desktops we aspire it to have.