PDA

View Full Version : I really like uBuntu but

cyrix
August 26th, 2005, 03:45 AM
I have been having a field day with Ubuntu until lately. I can't install java and numerous other packages. I'm a newb user and without these esentials being easily installable people will not stick around. People are stubborn and set in their ways, I used to run my own ISP, I know.

I am going to stick around and see if the problems get resolved, it's almost like no one is listening...

veratyr
August 26th, 2005, 04:09 AM
I'm sure it will get taken care of soon. I've been using ubuntu since the start of the summer so I'm still fairly newbish myself. This is the first time I've ran into problems like this, so I don't think its a common occurrence. And there is always the option to download and compile from source.

evilghost
August 26th, 2005, 04:24 AM
Cyrix, you're killing me. I look at your post history and it's nothing but blasting Ubuntu because you can't install a java package and recent server changes have caused a small hiccup. The majority of your post count is negative.

Before you start flaming and recreating the same bantor over and over, how about using the search feature. In 15 seconds, I have a solution to the j2re1.5 installation issue.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=318829&highlight=j2re#post318829 and it works.

Seriously, c'mon man.

nad
August 26th, 2005, 04:36 AM