PDA

View Full Version : Do you have a media PC? If so what is your setup?

clancymf
October 30th, 2007, 08:22 PM
I have been thinking about building a media computer to replace my rented DVR box and to have a pc in the living room.

However my budget is very limited. I wanted to see what/how everyone else had theirs set up.

After googling I found many how tos and use these parts, but all seem to be dated. What is your setup and how much would it cost if bought today.

Thanks!

JBAlaska
October 31st, 2007, 04:55 AM
Have a look at Mythbuntu, it's based on Ubuntu Gutsy with MythTV. I've been building mediaservers for friends and family for a couple of years, I first started using ******* for the OS because early MythTV installs were a little shaky.

Since I started using Mythbuntu I've been able to use computers with much lower specs and still get good performance.

I built one recently from a old dell 4600s (1.7-GHz Celeron & 384 RAM), I added a 200GB HD and installed Mythbuntu. The friend I built it for is very happy with it although he doesn't use it for a DVR, just for storing and playing movies and music on his TV. Cost: about $130.00us

My personal mediaserver is based on a HP Pavilion a737n (AMD64 3200+ with 1GB ram) that was given to me. I added 2-500GB and 1-400GB HD's and a ati tv wonder pro (also given to me) and used a old 9600 pro video card that I had lying around. I had to add a 80mm side fan to keep the HD's cool, other than that it's stock. I use a softmodded xbox classic running XBMC as a second frontend in my bedroom.

I only intended to use it until I could afford to build a custom box, but the darn thing works so well that I'm going to keep it until it dies. It's been running 24/7 for over six months without a hiccup. I figure I have about $550.00 in it (the cost of the HD's and fan).