PDA

View Full Version : Time Tracking Solution (not just normal tracker!)

the ev
October 30th, 2007, 07:42 PM
Hey everybody,

I'm working in a computer support environment and looking for a time tracking solution (either local program or web-based alternative) to manage not only my time, but the time of my various employees who will need to clock in/out at different locations. Here's a list of things I'm looking for:

--> Ability to login from multiple, physical (limited) locations (so that users couldn't login simply where ever they have internet, thus ensuring that they're actually coming in to work)
--> Substitute system that integrates scheduling changes into the time clock (so that, as an administrator, I can see that an employee worked the hours they needed to, even if those hours differ from the schedule at the beginning of the week because they picked up sub requests, and such)
--> Scheduling system that will give a weekly overview of who's working when (so that I can see, at a glance, who is scheduled to work when)
--> Normal time clock functionality (so I can see who's currently working, not working...preferably from the locations mentioned in the first bulletin)
--> Multiple user accounts (just that employees can login themselves, without me logging them in personally)

That's the long and skinny of what I'm looking for. I haven't found any solutions yet on the net in my searching, and thought "Hey! Ubuntu Forums has a lot of bright, informed people...maybe I should ask there for ideas!"...thus, here I am.

As for operating systems, I'm flexible. If you know of any solution (regardless Linux, Windows, or Mac) that might fit the bill, please let me know!!