PDA

View Full Version : NaNoWriMo?

Marquis_de_Carabas
October 30th, 2007, 06:48 PM
Just wondered if anybody else here is crazy enough to write a 175-page novel in 30 days? This is my first year attempting it and I'm looking forward to the challenge (and combining it with a degree and a bar job is going to make it a rather interesting challenge indeed!).

Check out http://www.nanowrimo.org for more info (the site's running a little slow at the moment with all the last-minute sign-ups, but patience is a virtue)

And if anybody in London is thinking about doing this, then come along to the kick-off party (http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/node/1014622) tomorrow evening.

ticopelp
October 30th, 2007, 07:30 PM
Yes. This will be my fifth year participating. I've finished successfully the last three years.

Marquis_de_Carabas
October 31st, 2007, 05:08 PM
Congratulations! Any advice for a newbie?

petersjm
October 31st, 2007, 05:48 PM
God, No! This year I did UKAuthors' Write a novel in a year (Sept 06 - Aug 07) which I managed! Yay! But in a month?! No way, dude!

ticopelp
October 31st, 2007, 07:30 PM
Congratulations! Any advice for a newbie?

Um... regulate your blood sugar, write every day, don't waste too much time on the forums, remember that it's just a first draft and will almost certainly be crap no matter what you do, and don't get depressed if you fall behind.

Oh, and lots of coffee. :KS

Celegorm
October 31st, 2007, 08:19 PM
This'll be my first NaNoWriMo too. One of my friends got me interested in it last year, and I've been looking forward to it. It's going to be crazy though, I'm already busy enough with college.

petersjm
October 31st, 2007, 08:43 PM
Good luck guys! Don't know how you could ever manage to do it in a month!

ticopelp
October 31st, 2007, 08:51 PM
Good luck guys! Don't know how you could ever manage to do it in a month!