PDA

View Full Version : Is there any difference between Unix network programming and Linux network programmin

fyplinux
October 30th, 2007, 12:29 AM
HI,

I found a book named <unix network programming>, but I am working under Ubuntu, I am wondering whether this book could guide me to program in Ubuntu?

Is there any difference between Unix network programming and Linux network programming? if so, does that mean I cannot use this book?

Regards.

Chickencha
October 30th, 2007, 08:46 AM
Short answer: yes, the book is probably fine.

Long answer: I'm no expert on the subject of network programming, but in general any programming resource that says it applies to Unix will also apply to Linux. There are probably some exceptions (and you'd have to look up the specifics of what they are), but usually you can assume compatibility. I wouldn't be too surprised if the topic is addressed in the book somewhere. You might take a look.

dwhitney67
October 30th, 2007, 08:52 AM
I recall (in the ol' days) that under Solaris I had to link C/C++ programs with the socket library; under Linux I do not. Hence the reason why Makefiles (and configuration scripts) are useful.

slavik
October 30th, 2007, 02:38 PM
Don't take the information in the book for granted, double check on it through man pages.

example:
bzero is deprecated in Linux (might not be there anymore at all), not so on Solaris.

fyplinux
October 30th, 2007, 08:53 PM
This book introduces Berkeley Sockets, which is the same architecture with Linux. From this point, it might be a guideline, in fact, I found the content is similar to the man page.

slavik
October 30th, 2007, 10:32 PM