PDA

View Full Version : Finally give up

Richardinel
October 23rd, 2007, 05:34 PM
I hate windoze, but this will be the os of choice for many centuries, Linux is way to clunky, it cannot perform a simplistic set of tasks easily. I have spent literally the last 48 hours trying to get a machine up, to work in a manner that is acceptable.

The "help" in 7.1 actually describes moves that no longer exist!, assistance from this forum is not for beginners with Linux and often assumes a certain Linux literacy ?, hello, I am a beginner with Linux and need to be told or shown where the Terminal window is, for example. No need to show off, we know you know what your doing, or at least we hope so.

Solutions given are complex sometimes and they need not be, the problem being, is that the assistance can come from someone who does not even know the OS well. For example, I needed certain directories (shortcuts) from a windoze network on the desktop and was given a complex set of code ? (why you cant just drag these and have an option to create a shortcut on the desktop is beyond me) , I discovered though, that by simply dragging them to the bottom bar and then dragging from there, to the desktop worked, I then deleted the shortcut on the bottom bar.

Remember most users come from a windoze background and if you are trying to attract people away from windoze, some of the basic familiar tasks are needed, surely, unless of course, the object is to remain an "elite" minority of Linux users.

Why for example cant one simply drag and drop ?, why is it so hard to add a ttf font ? and don't say its a windows font, because MANY people need a particular font for a letterhead for example and most of us unfortunately come from a windows background.

The graphics programs wont show thumbnails of jpg photographs sitting on a windoze machine on the network but will show the full picture ?.