PDA

View Full Version : how bad is network manager?

garba
October 28th, 2007, 10:41 PM
I usually don't like complaining about things that come for free as in free beer, but when it comes to NetworkManager I really can't help it. I've just given gutsy a spin on my old trusty home PC. This machine sits behind a d-link router and is equipped with two network cards. I don't have a dhcp server running on the router hence manual ip configuration is a must for me. So I go about booting up gutsy and the first thing I do is pretending I were a total noob who just wants to get its network configuration to work through a GUI. I spot an icon on the right top corner of the screen. I click on it and choose manual configuration.

From there on, I couldn't understand if it was me who is totally retarded or what. I have a checkbox on the left whose purpose is beyond me. Then there's this icon which would suggest that my nic cable is unplugged. Actually, one is unplugged but the other one isn't. Perhaps that icon more likely just stands for "cabled connection". Anyway we have a huge piece of information missing here: I can't tell from the applet if the network cable is unplugged, and I am 100% sure the kernel properly reports the link status, at least with my NICS. I then go about setting up my static ip trying to guess which interface is actually the plugged one cause from text strings such as eth0 eth1 alone no one could tell (appending something like hardware type? nah confusing). I fill in all the fields, I click "close" (apply? cancel? nah that's deprecated...). I then click on the resolver tab and type in my provider's name server. For some reason, there was a bogus entry there, an empty one...

I then fire up firefox and nothing works.

So what next?