PDA

View Full Version : Installation of Mythbuntu freezes

colinnwn
October 28th, 2007, 05:49 AM
I'm new to Mythbuntu, but I had Knoppmyth running successfully for several months before the hard drive crashed. I decided to try Mythbuntu this time, but when I chose "Start or install Mythbuntu" I then see

Starting lirc daemon:
*running local boot scripts /etc/rc.local
The screen flickers for a bit and then it bluescreens and says...
Display server shut down 6 times in 90 seconds. It is likely something bad is going on. Waiting for 2 min before trying again on display :0.

I was just starting to learn Linux when Knoppmyth crashed several months ago. I don't understand the problem. Can someone point me to a troubleshooting description for this?

I can get my full hardware specs out in a while. But I think the most relevant item would be this is using my Olevia 32" TV connected through its VGA port as the monitor. I would have thought this would be fine. But do I need to yank the box out of the home theater and hook it up on my desk?

Thanks.

superm1
October 29th, 2007, 02:21 AM
Try safe graphics mode.

colinnwn
October 29th, 2007, 08:16 PM
I tried last night, same problem occurred. Any other thoughts?
Thanks.

superm1
October 29th, 2007, 09:29 PM
Checkout /var/log/Xorg.0.log and /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old. See if they indicate why the X server is crashing.

colinnwn
October 30th, 2007, 04:01 AM
So I did the ctrl+alt+F1 thing and nano'ed the 2 files you pointed me to. They were both like 1800 lines long. I scanned them and nothing jumped out at my newbie self. I searched them for 'error' and 'EE'. The only thing that came up was
(EE) - AIGLX : Screen 0 is not DRI capable

Does this suggest anything, or is there something else I should look for?

Thanks.

superm1
October 30th, 2007, 04:18 AM