PDA

View Full Version : Can you help me in my Linux/Ubuntu research paper?

dnns123
October 24th, 2007, 06:01 AM
Hi! I'm a High/Middle/Secondary School student who is about to graduate. The topic I chose in my research paper is the replacement of Windows computers ( and hopefully Mac) of our school; with the main goal of the research paper ( set by the teachers) as "How can we improve the school?". Heres the background of my school's computer enviroment.

Windows - 90-100 desktops :mad:
Mac OSX - 150 desktops (140 iMacs ($1400 each) and 10 MacBooks) :mad:
Linux - 0! :(

My Jesuit school introduced the computer class in year 2000. Initially, they only taught MS Office, how to type, and how to make basic HTML websites. The computers they bought were Pentium 3s and were preinstalled ( I think ) with windows. Last year, they introduced the Mac with 40 iMacs. This year, they bought the rest of the bulk of iMacs and started to have mandatory Mac classes on how to use iDVD, iMovie, Garageband, Podcast, and most of iLife.

It really makes me :mad: (mad, lol) when I use these expensive computers and come to realize that these computers are only for those with big pockets (rich). And to further agrivate things, these computers promote closed-mindedness in the world of computing, not to mention the betrayal of the word, simplicity.

I asked the Computer Education's Admin why they made the Mac as the main computer and he said that it was the out-of-the-box beuty that was desired. Furthermore, he uses Ubuntu 7.10 in his computer at home and he doesn't like it; he owns a PowerBook. I'm not sure about his level of computer literacy, but it seems high. Another main problem is the use of the iSight of the iMac; it's used in the curriculum.

So the main question I have is:
- How can Ubuntu beat the iMac?
- How can Linux change the school?
- How can I overcome the thesis defence if they ask the question, "Do the students desire the change? ( Most of them like Macs, dammit! )