PDA

View Full Version : How about commercial software?

helzer
October 24th, 2007, 12:46 AM
I've been a Linux user for a few years now and enjoy free software.

The only little "problem" is, I make my living from writing and selling software. So, I use Linux to built it, but then sell it for Windows. There's just no way for me to sell anything on Linux (and I've tried).

What would you think about building a registration scheme for commercial software into Ubuntu? Something which would make it extra easy and safe for authors to sell and for users to buy?

I'd love to give my programs for free, but then, I'll have to look for something else to do, as I just live off it.

Thanks for your thoughts,
Amir

-grubby
October 24th, 2007, 12:49 AM
You could sell pre-compiled software, and have the source code available for developers

jrusso2
October 24th, 2007, 12:53 AM
If you have some good software to offer that fills a need people will buy it if the price is reasonable.

Look at CNR they offer some commercial software

helzer
October 24th, 2007, 12:59 AM
The package management system is what makes Linux so good for me (deb / RPM). Now, if that also included some standard way to purchase commercial software, I think it would let the real masses of computer users switch to Linux.

If you just look at what bothers the majority of the people, is that they don't have the programs that the NEED to use on Linux.

Making it possible for non technical people to buy commercial software, via the package management system would be a great improvement.

And, I can't share the source for these programs. When I can, I contribute work on open source projects and I do it happily (Rails, wxWidgets). There's just no way I can open the sources for my commercial programs.

Just my thought.

Amir

-grubby
October 24th, 2007, 01:03 AM