PDA

View Full Version : C/C++ to MIPS assembly

rbprogrammer
October 23rd, 2007, 03:47 AM
does any one know of a program that will convert C/C++ to MIPS assembly??

i know i can do a gcc or a g++ like:

$gcc -S somefile.c
and it will take the C file and convert it to assembly.. but that assembly is the x86 assembly (or whatever it is called).

is there a way to make gcc or g++ make a MIPS assembly file??

i only ask because of a course here that i am taking that makes us look at MIPS assembly and C code. it will also be helpful to see "efficient" code. since i'm still new at the assembly programming, it is still hard to see how to make code efficient since assembly is soooooo much different than any other language that i know.

LaRoza
October 23rd, 2007, 03:52 AM
I don't think so, you can't even get NASM out of it, but the assembly languages can't be that different. What syntax is the assembly you are learning?

rbprogrammer
October 23rd, 2007, 04:07 AM
ok, when you type out this simple C file: (named test.c)

int main()
{
register int i = 5;
register int j = 15;
register int k = i + j;
return 0;
}

then do

$ gcc -S test.c
you get:

.file "test.cpp"
.text
.align 2
.globl main
.type main, @function
main:
.LFB2:
leal 4(%esp), %ecx
.LCFI0:
andl $-16, %esp
pushl -4(%ecx)
.LCFI1:
pushl %ebp
.LCFI2:
movl %esp, %ebp
.LCFI3:
pushl %ecx
.LCFI4:
movl $0, %eax
popl %ecx
popl %ebp
leal -4(%ecx), %esp
ret
.LFE2:
.size main, .-main
.globl __gxx_personality_v0
.ident "GCC: (GNU) 4.1.2 (Ubuntu 4.1.2-0ubuntu4)"
.section .note.GNU-stack,"",@progbits

now i'm not so sure exactly what any of that means, but in MIPS, the equivalent to the simple addition statement would be:

register $t0 contains the i variable
register $t1 contains the j variable
register $t2 contains the k variable

add $t2, $t0, $t1