PDA

View Full Version : Help for C-L application-- Type, print, repeat (Just read)

erikpiper
August 21st, 2005, 02:36 AM
Hi! I have a application request. My mom asked me to et something ready for tomorrow, (!! ](*,) ) for some people we have coming over.

Basicaly what I need, (Command line is fine) is a way for someone to come to the computer, start typing on the keyboard, press a key combo (Ex- Ctrl/R or anything) and have what they just typed print out, and the input screen clear for the next person. I would want it to need a key combo that I know to exit.

Another way to describe what I need. A blank screen, that you can type on (Think blank console waiting for a command) Nano like. (But only type.) They press a key combo when done, told to them prior to using the computer. When they press it, the text is printed through a USB printer, and the screen is reset to do it again.

Any way I can get this running in tonight/tommorow morning? Any recources too teach a complete newbie to programming how to do this would be GREATLY appriciated!!

Thanks!!!!!!

aysiu
August 21st, 2005, 02:41 AM
Maybe I'm not understanding this correctly, but couldn't you just use OpenOffice Text, have them type in whatever they want and press this key combo?

Control-P Enter Control A Backspace

erikpiper
August 21st, 2005, 02:57 AM
Maybe I'm not understanding this correctly, but couldn't you just use OpenOffice Text, have them type in whatever they want and press this key combo?

Control-P Enter Control A Backspace
But then it is running X, running Gnome, with my games, and everything else. I want it to be as simple as possible. We don't want people using the computer. Just typing something. Doing the exact thing in C/L is best. No temptation to look at the rest of the system! If I cannot get that working,I will use OO.ORG. (Thanks about the Ctrl A Backspace tip!)