PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Server how many server on it

ms_dos10
October 21st, 2007, 08:31 AM
first of all I'm coming from Ubuntu desktop user. till now i don't deal with Ubuntu server . i wanna know how many server on it and what it can do ?
i have so many question it I'll come from your answer . the much i know much I'll ask
i made some search on the internet i found this :
1: Networking
2:Domain Name Server
3:Web Server
4:Database
5:File Server
6:E-mail Server
7:Version Control System
8:Windows Networking
is it Server support by Ubuntu and if there is more tell me
Regard

vamp4life666
January 17th, 2008, 02:22 AM
I am in a pretty similar boat.

I need to get a ubuntu file server running and I have never done so before.
I downloaded the server addition iso and istalled it on a box with no problems. Booted it up and logged in.

Than I just stared at michael@image: $

I have never used command line. The only comand line I know is XP's start > run > cmd > ipconfig /all to bring up the ip information....

I sat there for thirty minutes deperatly trying to make somehting work. I couldn't even get the machine to reboot....

I must say I felt belittled by it....

But now I have found the forum and have already made quite a bit of progress. I think by weeks end I will be much better off.

But know your not the only one with just a few beans....
Best of luck to you.
Michael

hilltop_yodeler
March 5th, 2008, 04:34 AM
Ubuntu Server is a wonderful OS and is easy to use. I'm not sure that either of you asked a question, so it's a bit difficult to answer. Did you get your issues worked out?