PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion for Article? How-To on SSH

jacrider
October 19th, 2007, 04:17 PM
In an effort to manage the computers in my house, I would like to become better versed in how to use SSH. I have failed miserably so far. Any chance of getting that on the editorial list?

Love the magazine.

catfacts
October 19th, 2007, 09:12 PM
I can try to find someone but will most likely fail as i have no clue what you are talking about. But if it involves networks im a noob. But if you really want to help find someone who would like to write an article yourself, ask around the community cafe, search google and seek out a guru! It sounds interesting as I have multiple computers and use flash drives as my "network" but again I may not be understanding SSH.

mrmonday
October 21st, 2007, 07:08 PM
SSH is a way of controlling a PC remotely and securely. I use it all the time :D the basic syntax is

ssh <user>@<host>
Obviously the host needs to have an ssh server running on their PC. It's a really simple way of having command line access on a remote PC. If you need a GUI, then you can use VNC. As for how to set up the server, I don't know, but I should imagine it is really just configuring a config file, then making it run automatically at start up. In the #6 Q&A there will be a simple thing about using nautilus for ssh file management. As always though, a quick google should solve your problems :D Look for an ssh server in synaptic then google for its documentation :)

Hope this helps :)

ronniet
October 21st, 2007, 08:03 PM
SSH is a way of controlling a PC remotely and securely. I use it all the time :D the basic syntax is

ssh <user>@<host>

Excellent, thank you for volunteering mrm, have that article on my desk asap... :KS

mrmonday
October 21st, 2007, 08:11 PM
Excellent, thank you for volunteering mrm, have that article on my desk asap... :KS

That's about as far as my knowledge goes on that one... However linuxgeekery has set up an SSH server, which I use...