PDA

View Full Version : New Linux/Ubuntu user... :)

maxxym
October 18th, 2007, 03:10 AM
Hello peeps... :)

Well.. I guess I should introduce myself. I am new to Linux..(completely switched to Kubuntu on my home desktop and work's laptop from Windows)...now, after playing around with it for about a week, I can't wait to switch to Ubuntu from Kubuntu. I think I would like Gnome better.

I decided to switch to Linux after working with Microsoft my whole life. I work in IT where entire infrastructure is Microsoft, but with Vista, I am not sure if they will upgrade anytime soon.

Anyways, I find Linux very interesting. It's little weird at the first because it's nothing like Windows. True, I get frustrated sometimes when I try to watch streaming videos in Firefox, just to find out that I need to run crazy commands to install RealPlayer. But I get it working. :)

So, with that said, I hope I can keep this going and stick with Linux. I had enough of Windows, and to be honest, I have a great opportunity at my work to start new career path, which is Linux...I see there is a lot of demand for people with Linux skills out there and market is pretty good.

I will be back... asking dumb questions probably. Hopefully as time passes, I will be able to help others.

id I mention that I can't wait to install Gutsy 7.10???? =D>

carlinuxlearner
October 18th, 2007, 03:13 AM
Well to Ubuntu Forums!

C@RL

nonewmsgs
October 18th, 2007, 03:15 AM
welcome! all of us here are impatiently waiting. i wouldnt be surprised if some people started rioting because it's sooo close but time is slllooowwwwwiiiiiiinnnnnnnngggggg ddddddooooooowwwwwwwwwwwnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Paul820
October 18th, 2007, 03:15 AM
Hello and welcome to the friendliest and most helpfull forums on the net, I hope you feel right at home here. On these forums, no question is a dumb questions.):P

maxxym
October 18th, 2007, 03:19 AM
LOL...I know.. I see them changing a website a little... I can't freaking wait!