PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Gvim Help.

Neej Suab
October 17th, 2007, 07:23 PM
I am new to programming and linux. I use vim in a class and really liked gvim. So i started programming in it. I would like tha make function to work so i don't have to exit and compile using gcc from the terminal. I have followed a few links and things to solve my problem but nothing has come of it. When i press the make button, or type the make command in Gvim i get this message.

:!make a.out 2>&1| tee /tmp/v652231/15
make: Nothing to be done for `a.out'.
(1 of 1): make: Nothing to be done for `a.out'.

Please help me.

Modred
October 17th, 2007, 10:39 PM
Generally, typing make will look for a Makefile that defines targets for compilation. Note that you never have to leave Vim to type something from a terminal. Just prepend your command with a !.

For example, press : to go into command mode and do this:

!gcc -o output %

% will be expanded to the current filename, so this is all you need if your program is only one file. If it's multiple files, you can specify them here just like on the command line.

Anyway, do a little research on basic makefile syntax and you can then integrate that into your projects with very little effort (using the make command, of course).

dwhitney67
October 18th, 2007, 06:02 AM
Or consider opening a separate terminal where you can perform the Make, the gcc, or whatever.

A simple Makefile would look like this:

CXXFLAGS = -O2
#CXXFLAGS += -g

SRC = mySrcFile.cpp
OBJ = $(SRC:.cpp=.o)

myExe: $(OBJ)
$(CXX) $(OBJ) -o $@

.cpp.o:
$(CXX) $(CXXFLAGS) -c $< -o $@

stylishpants
October 18th, 2007, 07:03 AM
Once you have a working makefile, you can then use vim's built-in make command.

Instead of typing :!make, type :make. This will compile the program, and bring your buffer to the first error if compilation fails. You can then use :cn to move to the next error in the list.